American Visa Bureau   »   American Immigration   »   Tourist Visa   »  Applying for an ESTA

Applying for an ESTA

As of January 2009, the United States (US) Department of Homeland Security implemented a mandatory Electronic System for Travel Authorization - the ESTA - for visitors from countries currently part of the US Visa Waiver Program (VWP). The ESTA can be obtained by making an online ESTA application.

What is the ESTA?

The ESTA, or Electronic System for Travel Authorization, is designed for citizens from one of the 36 countries that are part of the US visa waiver program, which include the UK, Germany, and Australia. Infants and children must have their own ESTA, which you can apply for on their behalf.

You will need an ESTA if you:

Click here to Apply Online for your ESTA Click here to Apply Online for your US ESTA

How to Apply for an ESTA with American Visa Bureau

The American Visa Bureau’s Online ESTA Application process makes applying for the ESTA straightforward and gives you access a whole range of benefits and support over the full two year period of the ESTA. 

How to apply for an ESTA

Step 1.
    Step 2.
  • Enter the passport and travel information for each traveler to the United States; 
    Step 3.
  • Await confirmation and make note of your application number.


ESTA BENEFITS from American Visa Bureau

  • Your ESTA application status can be checked at any time via our secure website.
  • An instant email confirmation upon the grant of your ESTA;
  • Regular email reminders to keep you aware of the travel details attached to your ESTA;
  • Travel and passport information for subsequent trips over the two year period can be quickly and easily amended;
  • Email reminder when you will need to reapply for an ESTA.
Please note that an ESTA is mandatory, but does not guarantee admission into the United States at the port of entry. An ESTA only authorises a traveler to board an air or sea carrier to travel to the United States. The final decision to authorize entry will be made by U.S Customs and Border Protection (CBP) at the port of entry.