19 January 2009

Indian visa-on-arrival getting closer for nationals from 18 countries

The Union tourism ministry in India has urged the home ministry to introduce a pilot programme allowing visas on arrival for nationals from 18 countries, reports the Statesman.

The 18 countries put forward for the pilot programme have already been included in a long-term visa facility with India.  They include New Zealand, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Belgium, Finland, Spain, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Japan, South Korea, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Mexico and Vietnam.

The ministry also called for multiple entry long-term visas to be extended to certain ASEAN countries, including Singapore, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos and Brunei, and has requested a tourism security organisation be constitutionalised following the terror attacks in Mumbai last year.

The Worldwide Visa Bureau is an independent consulting company specialising in India visa and immigration services.

Article by Jessica Bird, Worldwide Visa Bureau.

Bookmark and Share