Schengen Visa

Basic Requirements 

There are a number of European states (who number 24 in total) that participate fully in the Schengen Agreement of 1995. Schengen visa holders are able to move freely between the states on a short-term basis for up to 90 days, for either the purpose of tourism or business. The list of Schengen countries is as follows:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

Please note: Except for Norway and Iceland, all these countries are European Union (EU) members. EU citizens are automatically permitted to visit any of the EU Schengen countries for up to three months, without having to apply for a Schengen visa.

Processing Times

When applying for a Schengen visa, the processing time is very dependent on how the visa is applied for.  Applications can be made in person, by visiting the immigration office, and completed on the day.  However, there will still be a few hours of processing time.  For postal applications, approval can take a number of weeks. 

Apply Online for a Schengen Visa


Temporary Schengen Visas

Schengen Visa

Regardless of whether the intent of the visit is for tourism or business, a Schengen visa acts as the visa for entry to Schengen countries for non-EU citizens. A Schengen visa holder will be eligible to visit the Schengen countries for up to 90 days in total.

For any Schengen visa to be issued you MUST apply to the Consulate of the Country that you intend to spend the majority of your trip within or enter first. For example, if your travel plans were to travel to France for 1 day, Germany for 5 days and then Austria for 2 days, you would apply to the German consulate. 

However, if you planned on travelling to France, Germany and Austria for 1 day each, you would apply to the French consulate, as your duration in each country would be equal but France would be the first country of entry. 

Schengen Visa Validity

While Schengen visas can be issused as valid for either single, double or multiple entry, they still only allow a visit to the Schengen countries for a maximum of 90 days.  They cannot be extended while in the country, and to re-visit the country after the visa's expiry, a new Schengen visa application must be made.

Additionally, when applying for a Schengen visa, the applicant will be required to submit documentation to support their applicaiton.  This includes  the application form, evidence of funds for the duration of the trip and evidence of the applicant's intention to leave before the visa's expiry date (usually in the form of an onward ticket for travel).

Apply Online for a Schengen Visa