UK Worker Registration Scheme

The UK Worker Registration Scheme effectively closed on 30, April, 2011

Workers from the countries listed below no longer have to register with the UK Government in order to enter into employment.

However, should you wish to bring family members to the UK, you will need to obtain an EEA Family Permit.

The Worker Registration Scheme is specific only to immigrants from the European Union and specifically the listed EU New Member States.

Workers from these countries are required to register to work in the UK using the Worker Registration Scheme. Should an employee fail to do so, then they are in breach of the immigration rules.  Additionally, employers who hire non-registered workers are breaking the law and could be subject to a fine of up to £5,000.

Worker Registration Scheme Required Countries

Citizens moving to the UK from the following countries are all subject to the Worker Registration Scheme. 

  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • Hungary
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
Check If You Qualify For The Worker Registration Scheme

Worker Registration Scheme Requirements

Workers from the affected countries must apply to the Home Office for a worker's registration certificate when they find employment in the UK. Failure to do so will mean that they are working illegally.

Visa Conditions

Once they have worked for 12 months, such workers may apply for an EEA residence permit.

Nations Exempt from the Worker Registration Scheme

Please note:  Workers from all other EU/EEA nations are exempt from the Worker Registration Scheme when migrating to the UK. 

In addition, the following countries are also not affected by the Worker Registration Scheme and have the same UK immigration rights as citizens of EU member countries:

  • Iceland
  • Lichtenstein
  • Norway
Check If You Qualify For The Worker Registration Scheme