UK Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration - Previous Earnings

On 5 April, 2011, a UK immigration cap was put into effect and the Tier 1 (General) skilled visa programme was closed

As a result, our online assessment is no longer available and all information relating to the Tier 1 (General) skilled visa on our website is no longer applicable.

Further information and our response to the UK immigration cap and the closure of the skilled visa programme can be found on the UK Visa Bureau blog.


Please note: All Tier 1 applicants are required to have earned at least the equivalent of UK £25,000 from the 12 months they are claiming in order to make an application for Tier 1 migration.

See below for a table showing how many points are awarded for previous earnings.

Amount per annum Points
Under £25,000 per annum 0
£25,000 - £29,999 per annum 5
£30,000 - £34,999 per annum 15
£35,000 - £39,999 per annum 20
£40,000 - £49,999 per annum 25
£50,000 - £54,999 per annum 30
£55,000 - £64,999 per annum 35
£65,000 - £74,999 per annum 40
£75,000 - £149,999 per annum 45
£150,000 or above per annum  75 
Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration Assessment

Country income bands

To reflect differences in income levels across the world, countries are divided into 5 income bands and local incomes adjusted to the levels shown in the salary ranges above.

Please refer to the bands below to find out how much you must have earned from in the country you work in to qualify for Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration.  

To work out how much you must have earned, first convert your salary into sterling (£), then multiply that figure by the multiplier allocated for your country in its assigned band.

For example: If your money was earned in India, which is in Band D, you need to multiply your sterling equivalent salary by 5.3 and then locate the resulting figure in one of the salary ranges in the previous earnings table above to determine how many points you are eligible for.

Please be aware that if you earned a salary in more than one country for the 12 months you are claiming for, you will need to repeat the process for each country.

Country Code A (Multiplier = 1)

Andorra, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Channel Islands, Denmark, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Gibraltar, Guam, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Qatar, San Marino, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Vatican
Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration Assessment

Country Code B (Multiplier = 2.3)

American Samoa, Antigua and Bermuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Hungary, Israel, Korea (South), Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Macao, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Netherlands Antilles, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Northern Mariana Islands, Oman, Palau, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Taiwan, Trinidad & Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela, Virgin islands
Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration Assessment

Country Code C (Multiplier = 3.2)

Albania, Algeria, Belarus, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, China, Colombia, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Fiji, Gabon, Guatemala, Honduras, Iran, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Macedonia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Morocco, Namibia, Nauru, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Romania, Russian Federation, Samoa, South Africa, St Vincent & The Grenadines, Suriname, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan. Vanuatu, West Bank and Gaza
Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration Assessment

Country Code D (Multiplier = 5.3)

Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Cameroon, Comoros, Congo, Cote D'Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Georgia, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Senegal, Serbia, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Timor L'Este, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration Assessment

Country Code E (Multiplier = 11.4)

Afghanistan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Congo, Chad, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea - Bissau, Korea (North), Kygyz Republic, Lao, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mayotte, Mozambique, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda
Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration Assessment


Migration Seminars 2020

Professional and comprehensive visa information events in Manchester, London & Edinburgh.

Read More

VETASSESS Trade Skills Applications

We host technical interviews for skills assessments in our London or Edinburgh offices.

Read More