British Embassy Information

British Embassies are found in non-commonwealth capital cities (in commonwealth capitals they are referred to as High Commissions).

There are generally five key areas of responsibility for each overseas embassy:

  • Consular Section - This section helps British nationals who are living or visiting that country with issues such as passport renewal or if they find themselves in trouble with the police of that country.
  • Visa Section - There are over 1,350 people working in British embassies worldwide who assist with processing entry clearance applications.
  • Commercial Section - UK Trade and Investment (UKTI) provides trade development and inward investment services.
  • Political/ Press and PR - Aim to increase the UK's image of integrity, creativity and openness.
  • Management Section - managing such things as budget and the day to day running of the offices.

British Embassy Visa Services

Tier 1 (General) Skilled Visa

Tier 2

Indefinite Leave to Remain

Partner Visas

Entry Clearance

Citizenship and Naturalisation

Youth Mobility Scheme

Worker Registration

Business Visas

Medical Practitioner Visa Requirements

Graduate Visa

Ancestry Visa

Student Visa