UK Visa Bureau   »   UK Visas and Immigration   »   Tier 1 Skilled Visa   »  Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration Mandatory Requirements

Tier 1 (General) Mandatory Requirements


On 5 April, 2011, a UK immigration cap was put into effect and the Tier 1 (General) skilled visa programme was closed.

As a result, our online assessment is no longer available and all information relating to the Tier 1 (General) skilled visa on our website is no longer applicable.

Further information and our response to the UK immigration cap and the closure of the skilled visa programme can be found on the UK Visa Bureau blog

Similar to the former HSMP visa class, Tier 1 applicants must score 95 points on the skilled migrant points test

While there are no specific requirements for age, education level or other factors, it is impossible to score 95 points without scoring 10 points for each of the following mandatory requirements:

Do you qualify for Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration? Do you qualify for Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration?  Take the online assessment to find out.  

English Language Ability

Applicants who do not have a degree taught in English have a choice of must sit and pass an Approved English Language Test. For a full list of these tests, please click here for the current list of Approved English Language Tests and the level/grade required for each test.

One of the most popular and widely accessible Approved English Language Tests for migrants to the UK is the International English Language Testing System (IELTS). According to IELTS, applicants must score at least 6.5 on each of the 4 components. IELTS measures the ability to communicate in English across all four language skills - listening, reading, writing and speaking - for people who intend to study or work where English is the language of communication.

Applicants from some countries where English is the official language are exempt from having to sit an Approved English Language Test.

Nationals of these countries can automatically claim 10 points for English language ability
Antigua & Barbuda Australia
The Bahamas Barbados
Belize Canada
Dominica Grenada
Guyana Jamaica
New Zealand St Kitts & Nevis
St Lucia St Vincent & the Grenadines
Trinidad & Tobago United States of America

Take the online UK Skilled Immigration Visa assessment Take the online UK Skilled Immigration Visa assessment.

Available Settlement Funds

All Tier 1 applicants are required to have earned at least the equivalent of UK £25,000 from the 12 months they are claiming in order to make an application.

However, as well as meeting the earnings requirement, applicants will need to demonstrate that they have sufficient available settlement funds to help them settle in the UK.  However, should you have any dependents also applying with you, they must all demonstrate that they have sufficient funds available when migrating with you.

Find out if you qualify Take the online assessment to see if you can apply for Tier 1 (General) Skilled Migration.