Skilled Sponsored (Provisional) Visa Designated Area


With the introduction of the new Work Regional (Provisional) Subclass 491 Skilled Visa, the exact post codes that constitutes Designated Areas for each State have not yet been released by the Australian Government. As soon as they are released, we will update this page with the exact post codes.


To qualify for the Skilled Sponsored (Provisional) Visa under the relative sponsorship nomination, your sponsor must have lived for at least 1 year and still be a resident of one of the Designated Areas outlined below.

Designated Areas - Updated 20/09/2019

Skilled Designated Area Sponsored Visa Postal Codes
State or Territory Designated Area
Victoria Anywhere except Melbourne metropolitan area
South Australia Anywhere
Northern Territory Anywhere
Tasmania Anywhere
Australian Capital Territory Anywhere
Queensland Anywhere except the Gold Coast and Brisbane metropolitan area
Western Australia Anywhere expect Perth metropolitan area
New South Wales Anywhere except Sydney metropolitan area

If your sponsor does not live in any of these Designated Areas, you will not be eligible. However, you could still achieve a Skilled Nominated (Provisional) Visa through sponsorship by one of the following States/Territories:


Online Immigration Assessment

Free online immigration assessment.

Apply Now

Migration Seminars 2019

Professional and comprehensive visa information events in Manchester, London & Edinburgh.

Read More

VETASSESS Trade Skills Applications

We host technical interviews for skills assessments in our London or Edinburgh offices.

Read More