Skilled Sponsored (Provisional) Visa Designated Area


With the introduction of the new Work Regional (Provisional) Subclass 491 Skilled Visa, which supersedes the Nominated (Provisional) Subclass 489 Visa, please refer to the new Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa Designated Areas.


To qualify for the Skilled Sponsored (Provisional) Visa under the relative sponsorship nomination, your sponsor must have lived for at least 1 year and still be a resident of one of the Designated Areas outlined below.

Designated Areas - Updates 12/09/2011

Skilled Designated Area Sponsored Visa Postal Codes
State or Territory Designated Area
Victoria Anywhere
South Australia Anywhere
Northern Territory Anywhere
Tasmania Anywhere
Australian Capital Territory Anywhere
Queensland Postcode areas: 4019-4028, 4037-4050, 4079-4100, 4114, 4118, 4124-4150, 4158-4168, 4180-4899
(anywhere except Brisbane metropolitan area)
Western Australia Anywhere
New South Wales Postcode areas: 2311-2312, 2328-2333, 2336-2490, 2535-2551, 2575-2739, 2787-2898
(anywhere except Sydney, Newcastle and Wollongong)

If your sponsor does not live in any of these Designated Areas, you will not be eligible.  However, you could still achieve a Skilled Nominated (Provisional) Visa through sponsorship by one of the following States/Territories:

Online Immigration Assessment

Free online immigration assessment.

Apply Now

Migration Seminars 2020

Professional and comprehensive visa information events in Manchester, London & Edinburgh.

Read More

VETASSESS Trade Skills Applications

We host technical interviews for skills assessments in our London or Edinburgh offices.

Read More

Australia News