Emigrate to Tasmania: Regional Sponsorship


With the introduction of the new Nominated Work Regional (Provisional) Subclass 491 Skilled Visa, which supersedes the Nominated (Provisional) Subclass 489 Visa, please refer to the new requirements for Tasmania Skilled Regional Sponsorship.


The Skilled - Nominated (Provisional) visa (subclass 489) is for skilled people who wish to live and work in a regional or low population growth area in Australia.

The visa was developed in consultation with State and Territory governments and is designed to assist regional areas attract, and retain, skilled migrants to fill skill shortages, boost development in regional communities and counter the population decline in rural areas.

The Skilled - Nominated (Provisional) visa (subclass 489) is a temporary visa valid for a period of 4 years.

Tasmania Visa Eligibility Requirements

To apply for this visa you must:

  • be invited to apply;
  • be younger than 50 years of age when you are invited to apply;
  • nominate an occupation that matches your skills and qualifications and is on the relevant Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL);
  • have your skills assessed by the relevant assessing authority as suitable for your nominated occupation;
  • have at least competent English;
  • score at least 60 on the Points Test; AND
  • meet the health and character requirements.

Applicants for the Skilled - Nominated (Provisional) visa (subclass 489) will be required to sign an undertaking that they, and the members of their family unit, will live, work or study in regional Australia or a low population metropolitan centre for the duration of their Skilled - Nominated (Provisional) visa (subclass 489).

Applicants for a Skilled - Nominated (Provisional) visa must have State or Territory government sponsorship, or alternately, have sponsorship through an Australian citizen or permanent Australian resident in one of the Designated Areas.

Through a 2-stage visa process, Skilled - Nominated (Provisional) visa holders must live and work in a low population growth metropolitan area for at least 2 years before they can apply for permanent residence.

Regional Australia Sponsorship

Living in regional Australia or a low population growth metropolitan area means that Skilled - Nominated (Provisional) visa (subclass 489) holders can live anywhere in Australia except in Sydney, Newcastle, Wollongong, the NSW Central Coast, Brisbane, the Gold Coast, Perth, Melbourne or the ACT.

Online Immigration Assessment

Free online immigration assessment.

Apply Now

Migration Seminars 2020

Professional and comprehensive visa information events in Manchester, London & Edinburgh.

Read More

VETASSESS Trade Skills Applications

We host technical interviews for skills assessments in our London or Edinburgh offices.

Read More

Australia News