23 July 2010

New priority processing arrangements for Australian skilled migration visas

The Minister for Immigration and Citizenship, Senator Chris Evans, has set new priority processing arrangements for certain Australian skilled migration visas.

The change to the priority processing order take into account the new Australian Skilled Occupation List (SOL) that came into effect on 1 July 2010, the revocation of the Migration Occupation in Demand List (MODL) and the Critical Skills List (CSL).

The new Australian Visa processing priorities apply to applications already lodged with the Department of Immigration and Citizenship, as well as to future applications.

The new Australian Visa priority processing arrangements apply to applications under the following:

  • Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS);
  • Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS);
  • Skilled – Independent subclass 175;
  • Skilled – Independent subclass 176;
  • Skilled – Regional Sponsored subclass 475;
  • Skilled – Regional Sponsored subclass 487;
  • Skilled – Independent Regional subclass 495;
  • Skilled – Designated Area-sponsored (Provisional) subclass 496;
  • Graduate – Skilled subclass 497;
  • Skilled – Onshore Independent New Zealand Citizen subclass 861;
  • Skilled – Onshore Australian-sponsored New Zealand Citizen subclass 862;
  • Skilled – Onshore Designated Area-sponsored New Zealand Citizen subclass 863;
  • Skilled – Independent Overseas Student subclass 880;
  • Skilled – Australian-sponsored subclass 881;
  • Skilled – Designated Area-sponsored Overseas Student subclass 882;
  • Skilled – Independent subclass 885;
  • Skilled – Sponsored subclass 886.

From 14 July 2010, Australian Visa applications will be assessed in the following processing order:

  1.  Applications from people who are employer sponsored under the ENS and the RSMS. 
  2.  Applications from people who are nominated by a state or territory government agency with a nominated occupation that is specified on that state or territory’s state migration plan. 
  3.  Applications from people who have nominated an occupation on the new Australian SOL
  4.  All other applications are to be processed in the order in which they are received.

Priority processing refers to the order in which the department considers skilled migration applications. Priority processing arrangements apply to current applications, including those in the final stages of processing.

A number of visa subclasses are exempt from priority processing and will be processed in the order in which they are received:

  • Skilled – Recognised Graduate subclass 476;
  • Skilled – Graduate subclass 485;
  • Skilled – Designated Area – Sponsored (Residence) subclass 883;
  • Skilled – Regional subclass 887.

The Australian Visa Bureau is an independent consulting company specialising in helping people lodge their Australian Visa applications at Australian High Commission.   

Bookmark and Share