11 July 2008

11 countries may be added to UK visa list

The UK is currently deciding whether to alter the immigration rules regarding 11 countries. Visitors from these countries are currently exempt from applying for a UK visa before visiting the country, but could soon be part of the program.

Included in the list of countries are South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago, Brazil, Malaysia, Venezuela, Bolivia, Botswana, Lesotho, Mauritius, Namibia and Swaziland. Liam Byrne, the Immigration Minister, said the countries in question will have to make security improvements if they want to avoid the new UK visa regulations.

The Home Office will give them until the end of the year to prove they have increased security in measures such as passport security, crime and tourism and cooperation in deportations from the UK, reports the Press Association. Mr Byrne told the news organisation: "Three-quarters of the world's population need to pass a visa check to come to Britain. We cannot and will not shy away from going wider and will wherever we think there's a risk to the UK."

The UK has recently adopted a new points-based visa system which will alter how people apply for UK immigration.

Anyone interested in getting a better understanding of their current position under UK visa regulations should request a call from a qualified UK Visa Bureau migration consultant to see if they are eligible for migration to the UK, or call direct on Freephone 0800 043 7011. Alternatively, HSMP visa hopefuls should try taking the HSMP online assessment.

Bookmark and Share